Peterhouse Theatre
Tue 23 October
Camerata Musica


Mozart, Schumann, Brahms

Mozart, Piano Quartet in E-flat, K. 493
Schumann, Piano Quartet in E-flat, Op. 47
Brahms, Piano Quartet in G minor, Op. 25

‘The Notos Quartet is a fantastic ensemble’ declared the great conductor Zubin Mehta on his first encounter with its musicianship. Similarly enthusiastic plaudits have greeted the Notos Quartet’s performances and recordings since its formation in 2007. The German music review Fono Forum lauded the Quartet as one of the ‘outstanding chamber music formations of our time’ and praised the musicians for their ‘profound musicality that goes straight to the heart.’ To an already long list of prizes and awards, the Notos Quartet added the highly prestigious ECHO Klassik Award of the German music critics as ‘Newcomer of the Year’ in 2017. The Quartet records for Sony Classical.



120 minutes


Peterhouse Theatre


£49 (£39), £37 (£30), £29 (£24), Students £10 (£5 balcony)

Peterhouse is the oldest of the constituent colleges in the University of Cambridge.  It was founded in 1284 by Hugo de Balsham, Bishop of Ely, on its current site close to the centre of the City.

The Peterhouse Theatre was built in 1883 to designs by one of the architectural masters of the Victorian era, Basil Champneys (1842-1935), whose other buildings include Newnham College and the Old Divinity School in Cambridge. Inspired by Palladio’s Teatro Olimpico at Vicenza (1580-85), the fine acoustics and intimate atmosphere of the Peterhouse Theatre make it the finest venue for chamber music in Cambridge, and one of the top three such venues in the whole country.   


Peterhouse Theatre
Peterhouse College
Get directions